West Ham outraged as VAR doesn’t look at incident which saw ball strike arm of Manchester United defender Victor Lindelof

West Ham were left outraged as they were denied a penalty despite the ball striking Victor Lindelof on the arm inside the Manchester United box.

The Hammers took the lead against the run of play when Said Benrahma’s weak effort somehow squirmed under David de Gea on 27 minutes.

bt sport

The ball did hit Lindelof’s arm but West Ham weren’t given a penalty

But they’ll feel they should’ve had a big chance to double their advantage on the stroke of half time with Benrahma’s cross hitting Lindelof’s arm.

West Ham players surrounded referee Peter Bankes pleading for a spot-kick but he blew for half time seconds later with VAR deciding not to look at the incident again.

Reacting to the incident, Sam Matterface said on commentary for talkSPORT: “There should be a handball. He moves his arms towards the ball. The game has been stopped for half time but I think that was a penalty.”

Scott Minto added: “I tell you what, he [Lindelof] has leant into that.

“The only way he can say it wasn’t a penalty was that his arm was close to his side but I’m sorry he’s leant into that and therefore it’s hit his arm.

“That was a penalty.”

Hammers boss David Moyes will be furious if the no penalty costs them the three points


Hammers boss David Moyes will be furious if the no penalty costs them the three points

Former West Ham striker Carlton Cole tweeted: “Honestly what is going on at Stockley Park?

“It’s clear as day, he moves his arm towards the ball. We can’t keep on protecting the use of VAR when such blatant ‘mistakes’ are being made. What is going on ?????”

talkSPORT understands Lindelof wasn’t penalised as the point of contact is within the body line of the Man United centre-back.

Recent Articles


Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox